What to read after Harry Potter if his friendships captured your heart.

It is not easy to find the next book for your child after Harry Potter. It is a series that takes the reader on a magical journey, immersing them so deeply in its world that the story stays with them for life. ​ You might have a reader who wants to move on to a fantasy adventure series or a historical quest (see my 7 perfect books for Harry Potter fans to read next post). However, they might want something that captures their heart in the same way Harry's friendships did. If so, here are four books they will want to read next. A Place Called Perfect by Helena Duggan Age: 8-12 ​ A creepy adventure story packed with twists that hook you in from the beginning and keep you guessing until the very end. The lead characters are thoughtful and beautifully developed. If your reader enjoyed how Harry, Hermione and Ron pieced together facts and made plans, this is a perfect read for them. ​ One of those books you think about when you're not reading it and can't wait to find out what happens next. –(Tom Fletcher 2017 Book Club) Letters from the Lighthouse by Emma Carroll Age: 9-12 ​ "We weren't supposed to be going to the pictures that night. We weren't even meant to be outside, not in a blackout, and definitely not when German bombs had been falling on London all month like pennies from a jar.'" ​ Olive is determined to solve the mystery and find out what happened to her elder sister, Sukie on the night of the air raid. This is one of my favourite reads this year; my daughter and I were gripped from the start. Despite being a historical novel set in World War II England, the themes of refugees, prejudice and belonging are relevant to the world we live in today. It has fast become a favourite amongst junior school teachers as it is a perfect platform for discussion. The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell Age: 9-12 ​ A story of adventure, revolution and standing up for the things you believe in. It is about the power of the underdog and fighting back. And, of course, wolves. A heroine so magnificent and strong, she is worthy of comparison to Lyra Belacqua. Readers who relish a fast-paced page-turner will quickly get lost in this snowy, Russian fantasy tale. Katherine Rundell is infamous for her beautiful and purposeful use of prose. For children looking to read as a writer and enjoy a cracking yarn, this is a must-read. Ruby Redfort by Lauren Child (Children's Laureate 2017 – 2019) Age: 10-13 ​ Set in our world, Ruby Redfort appeals to readers who are not drawn into Harry Potter by the fantasy genre but by the problem solving action-packed narrative. As a teenage James Bond/Alex Rider character, Ruby is intelligent, smart and, in lots of ways, a typical teenager. She plays it cool but likes to win. Many boys who are reluctant to read a book with a female lead have been pleasantly surprised and called back for Book 2 in the series.

What to read after Harry Potter if his friendships captured your heart.